Seminar details

By zoom (details below)
18 December 2020 - 10h00
Certified Tools for Schedulability Analyses (Phd Defense)
by Guo Xiaojie from INRIA/VERIMAG



Abstract: Schedulability analysis aims at guaranteeing the absence of deadline misses in hard real-time systems. This property is crucial for systems used in safety-critical domains such as avionics because a single deadline miss may have catastrophic consequences.

In this thesis, we use the Coq proof assistant and machine-checked proofs to provide the highest level of confidence in hard real-time system schedulability analyses as well as related industrial tools.

The main contributions of this thesis are:
(i) A formal interface combining the schedulability analyses proven in the Prosa library based on Coq with a formally verified OS kernel (RT-CertiKOS). This work demonstrated the adequacy of Prosa's abstract model with a real system and showed that analyses proven over an abstract and analysis-convenient models can also be applied to a concrete system. This work also provided RT-CertiKOS with a modular, state-of-the-art schedulability analysis proof.
(ii) CertiCAN, a formally verified result certifier for CAN (Controller Area Network) analyzers. This work showed that result certification is a flexible and light-weight process suitable for industry practice. Indeed, it does not rely on the source code and is not impacted by software updates. Our experiments show that CertiCAN is efficient enough to certify the results produced by the industrial tool RTaW-Pegase even for large systems.
(iii) Gd, a very general task model and its corresponding response time analysis amenable to a formalization in Coq. The main benefit of this approach is to factorize and reduce the proof effort. After verifying a general schedulability analysis for Gd, proving the correctness of analysis for a more specific model boils down to proving its instantiation to Gd.



https://grenoble-inp.zoom.us/j/96952134330
password for zoom: 362468

Jury:
- M. Pascal Fradet, INRIA Grenoble, Directeur de thèse
- M. Robert Davis, University of York, Rapporteur
- M. Stephan Merz, INRIA Nancy, Rapporteur
- M. Nicolas Navet, University of Luxembourg, Examinateur
- M. David Monniaux, CNRS, Examinateur
- M. Jean-François Monin, Université Grenoble Alpes, Invité (Co-directeur de thèse)
- Mme. Sophie Quinton, INRIA Grenoble, Invitée (Co-encadrante)

Contact | Site Map | Site powered by SPIP 3.1.15 + AHUNTSIC [CC License]

info visites 1756015

Détails sur le séminaire

By zoom (details below)
18 décembre 2020 - 10h00
Certified Tools for Schedulability Analyses (Phd Defense)
par Guo Xiaojie de INRIA/VERIMAG



Résumé : L'analyse d'ordonnançabilité vise à garantir le respect des échéances dans les systèmes temps réel durs. Cette propriété est cruciale pour les systèmes utilisés dans les domaines critiques tels que l'avionique, car une échéance manquée peut avoir des conséquences catastrophiques. Dans cette thèse, nous utilisons l'assistant de preuves Coq afin d'assurer la correction des analyses d'ordonnançabilité des systèmes temps réel durs et des outils industriels associés.

Les principales contributions de cette thèse sont:
(i) Une interface formelle combinant les analyses d'ordonnançabilité prouvées dans la bibliothèque Prosa basée sur Coq avec un noyau de système d'exploitation concret vérifié formellement (RT-CertiKOS). Ce travail a permis de justifier l'adéquation du modèle abstrait de Prosa à un système réel. Il a montré que les analyses prouvées pour un modèle abstrait et dédié à l'analyse peuvent également être appliquées à un système concret. Ce travail a également fourni à RT-CertiKOS une preuve d'ordonnançabilité modulaire à la pointe de l'état de l'art.
(ii) CertiCAN, un certificateur de résultats formellement vérifié pour les analyseurs de réseaux CAN (Controller Area Network). Ce travail a montré que la certification de résultats est un processus flexible et léger qui convient bien aux pratiques de l'industrie. En effet, CertiCAN n'a pas besoin d'avoir accès au code source et n'est pas affecté par les mises à jour logicielles. Nos expérimentations ont montré que CertiCAN est suffisamment efficace pour certifier les résultats produits par l'outil industriel RTaW-Pegase et ceci même pour de grands systèmes.
(iii) Gd, un modèle de tâches très général et une analyse du temps de réponse associée se prêtant à sa formalisation en Coq. L'avantage de cette approche est de factoriser et de simplifier l'effort de preuve. Une fois l'analyse du temps de réponse pour Gd formellement vérifiée, prouver la correction d'une analyse pour un modèle plus spécifique revient à prouver son instanciation à Gd.



https://grenoble-inp.zoom.us/j/96952134330
password for zoom: 362468

Jury:
- M. Pascal Fradet, INRIA Grenoble, Directeur de thèse
- M. Robert Davis, University of York, Rapporteur
- M. Stephan Merz, INRIA Nancy, Rapporteur
- M. Nicolas Navet, University of Luxembourg, Examinateur
- M. David Monniaux, CNRS, Examinateur
- M. Jean-François Monin, Université Grenoble Alpes, Invité (Co-directeur de thèse)
- Mme. Sophie Quinton, INRIA Grenoble, Invitée (Co-encadrante)

Contact | Plan du site | Site réalisé avec SPIP 3.1.15 + AHUNTSIC [CC License]

info visites 1803673