Verimag

Seminar details

CTL
29 October 2012 - 14h00
On Computer-Aided Design-Space Exploration for Multi-Cores
by Jean-François KEMPF from VERIMAG



Abstract: The growing complexity of embedded systems calls for modeling formalisms that can be simulated and analyzed to explore the space of design alternatives. This thesis describes the development of a modeling formalism and tools for design space exploration at early stages of the development.
On one hand we introduce the formalism of Duration Probabilistic Automata (DPA), that can be viewed as timed automata where the intervals of temporal uncertainty are interpreted probabilistically. We developed a piecewise analytic approach to compute performance measures for such systems and study the synthesis of schedulers which are expected-time optimal.
On the other hand we developed DESPEX (DEsign SPace EXplorer), a tool for performance evaluation of high-level models. Given an application and an architecture description with a specific deployment scheme, the tool provides performance evaluation (latency, power consumption ...) at early design stages in the design flow. We demonstrate the usage of the tool on several case studies.



Jury :
- Mr. Oded Maler, Directeur de Recherche CNRS, Directeur de thèse
- Mr. Marius Bozga, Ingénieur de Rechercheur CNRS, Encadrant
- Pr. Kim G. Larsen, Aalborg University, Rapporteur
- Pr. Bruce Krogh, Carnegie Mellon, Rapporteur
- Pr. Boudewijn R. Haverkort, University of Twente, Examinateur
- Pr. Eugène Asarin, Université Denis Diderot Paris 7, Examinateur
- Mr. Fahim Rahim, ATRENTA, Examinateur

Contact | Site Map | Site powered by SPIP 3.0.26 + AHUNTSIC [CC License]

info visites 874732

Verimag

Détails sur le séminaire

CTL
29 octobre 2012 - 14h00
Exploration de l'espace de design assistée par ordinateur pour les systèmes multi-coeurs
par Jean-François KEMPF de VERIMAG



Résumé : La complexité croissante des systèmes embarqués nécessite des formalismes de modélisation qui peuvent être simulés et analysés pour explorer l'espace des alternatives de conception. Cette thèse décrit le développement d'un formalisme de modélisation et des outils pour l'exploration de l'espace de conception à des stades précoces du développement.
D'une part, nous introduisons le formalisme des automates à durée probabilistes (DPA), qui peuvent être considérées comme des automates temporisés où les intervalles d'incertitude temporelle sont interprétés de façon probabiliste. Nous avons développé une approche analytique pour calculer des mesures de performance pour ce type de système et nous avons étudié la synthèse d'ordonnanceurs optimaux en fonction du temps de terminaison moyen.
D'autre part, nous avons développé DESPEX (Design Space Explorer), un outil d'évaluation de performance de modèles de haut niveau. Etant donné une application et une description de l'architecture ainsi qu'un déploiement spécifique, l'outil fournit l'évaluation des performances (temps de réponse, consommation d'énergie ...) à des stades précoces dans le flot de conception. Nous montrons également l'utilisation de l'outil sur plusieurs études de cas.



Jury :
- Mr. Oded Maler, Directeur de Recherche CNRS, Directeur de thèse
- Mr. Marius Bozga, Ingénieur de Rechercheur CNRS, Encadrant
- Pr. Kim G. Larsen, Aalborg University, Rapporteur
- Pr. Bruce Krogh, Carnegie Mellon, Rapporteur
- Pr. Boudewijn R. Haverkort, University of Twente, Examinateur
- Pr. Eugène Asarin, Université Denis Diderot Paris 7, Examinateur
- Mr. Fahim Rahim, ATRENTA, Examinateur

Contact | Plan du site | Site réalisé avec SPIP 3.0.26 + AHUNTSIC [CC License]

info visites 876204